

**ENVIRONMENTAL DIVISION** 

## Regional Household Hazardous Waste Facility



DuPage County partners with the City of Naperville, Will County, Kane County, Aurora, and the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency to fund a facility that collects hazardous materials that may be difficult to properly dispose elsewhere.

156 Fort Hill Drive, Naperville

## **Hours of Operation**

9 a.m. - 2 p.m.

Saturdays and Sundays (excluding holidays)

For more information, visit www.dupageco.org/waste or call (630) 420-6095.

## **Acceptable Materials**

- Aerosol cans
- Asbestos materials (sized to fit in a 55-gallon drum; not in excess of 50 pounds)
- Automotive fluids (oil, gasoline and anti-freeze)
- Batteries (automotive, marine and sump pump)
- Fire extinguishers
- Flammables
- Fluorescent bulbs, CFLs (sealed, unbroken only)
- Household cleaners, drain openers and pool chemicals

- Mercury
- Non-controlled prescription and over-thecounter medications
- Paints and stains (oil-based only)
- Peanut oil
- Poison, pesticides and fertilizers
- Propane tanks
- Solvents and strippers
- Thermostats
- Unknown hazardous substances

## **Materials Not Accepted**

- Ammunition
- Compressed gas (other than propane)
- Electronics
- Empty spray cans and containers
- Explosives
- Helium tanks
- Latex paint

- Paper, glass, metal, wood and Styrofoam
- Radioactive materials
- Sharps (needles or lancets)
- Smoke detectors
- Tires
- Trash and non-hazardous materials
- Unopened, useable consumer products